Adrift in Detroit 

I write from my hotel room in Cincinnati after a long and not particularly comfortable bus ride. I didn’t get to say half the things I wanted to say about my day and Detroit yesterday, and I still won’t get to half of them, but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t try. I guess I caught a one-day window in an otherwise dreary weather week, here’s what it looked like:


As frequently happens when I am left to my own devices, I found myself walking along some body of water. Back home it’s usually an irrigation ditch, but yesterday it was the Detroit River, where I found a very nicely maintained riverwalk trail complete with public art, parks and even one of these things:


I even wandered into a unique bit of street theatre by Renascence Center: 


The story here is that apparently the LAPD challenged Detroit Police to do a video of their officers to do a “running man” dance… for reasons that were not made particularly clear. So, there were several equestrian units, a SWAT team and two classes of new recruits all participating.

From there, I went to the Detroit Institue of Arts, which was a refreshing change from many art museums I’ve been to. I guess the best way to put it would be to say that usually I run out of patience with an exhibit, where I either am presented with absolutely no context for the artwork or else am drowned in information. At DIA, I didn’t run out of patience, I simply ran out of time. 

Leave a Reply

